MindMup Data Security

Most MindMup 2 functionality runs directly in your browser. Some file conversions, however, are not possible to implement in browsers with today’s technology. This includes converting maps to PDFs, or creating Powerpoint slides from storyboards. In such cases, MindMup provides remote format conversion.

MindMup 2 allows users to store data on Google Drive and MindMup Cloud storage, and publish maps online using MindMup Atlas. In such cases, as directed by the users, data is sent from the browser to the remote service.

Remote exports

When are remote exports used?
Remote exports are used to convert maps to other formats (including PDF for printing, images etc). The files are never uploaded without your explicit permission. Every time MindMup needs to send the file to a conversion service, the users are warned and asked for permission, clearly including the link to this page. The file is then securely uploaded from the browser to our servers, processed, and the result is stored for a short period of time so you can download or share it.
Where are the files processed?
For server-side processing, the maps are uploaded using HTTPS to Amazon’s S3 file storage system. The converted files are also stored on the S3 file system. The data is processed in the Amazon Web Service compute cloud.
How long are the files preserved?
The map contents on the remote systems are discarded immediately after successful processing. The conversion results are kept on the server for up to 24 hours, so the user requesting the conversion can retrieve them. They are automatically discarded after 24 hours.
How secure are the files?
The source files are secured under the standard Amazon S3 access mechanisms, available only to the server-side process that converts the files. After the conversion is complete, the resulting file is stored under the same mechanism, and a unique security key valid for 24 hours is generated so that the user who initiated the conversion can download the results. Only the requesting user gets the security key, and it is transferred to the user over HTTPS.
Although we can make no guarantees about the internal security policies at Amazon AWS, to the best of our knowledge, the files are not searchable, indexable or visible to anyone who does not have the security credentials associated with your URL. All links and security keys are transported using HTTPS. The files are stored secured by Amazon’s standard S3 security mechanisms and not encrypted.

Working with Google Drive

Where is the content stored?
When you use Google Drive to store maps, all changes to map content are directly sent from your browser to Google Drive Realtime API, using HTTPS. MindMup 2 does not send the map data anywhere else or keep additional copies or backups.
What privileges does MindMup 2 request from Google Apps?
MindMup 2 requests privileges from Google Drive only to access the data while you are using the application, and does not have any access to your data outside your browser sessionr. For detailed technical information on this, check out the Administrator’s guide
How secure are the files?
MindMup 2 does not store files, Google Drive does, so normal Google Drive security applies. Users can choose who can see and edit the files using the normal Google Drive sharing mechanisms.

Working with MindMup Cloud storage

Where is the content stored?
MindMup 2 uses Amazon Web Service S3 File system for MindMup storage. The changes to map content will be sent from your browser directly to S3 using HTTPS, only when directed by you (no automatic saving). MindMup 2 does not provide any additional protection, backups or guarantees for the storage of the content.
How secure are the files?
  • We store the content unencrypted.
  • Free maps (saved without a MindMup Gold account) are publicly available to anyone with the corresponding URL.
  • Gold maps (saved by MindMup Gold users) are private, available to users authorised using the corresponding MindMup Gold account. The authorization is technically implemented using AWS S3 pre-signed URLs.

Publishing to MindMup Atlas

Where is the content stored?
When you publish a map to MindMup Atlas, the map content will be sent from your browser to Amazon Web Services S3 file storage system using HTTPS. Atlas will store the content using Amazon Web Services S3 Storage system and provide no additional protection, backups or guarantees for the storage of the content.
How secure are the files?
We store the content unencrypted. Maps published to Atlas are publicly available to anyone with the corresponding URL.